Gun Free Zones
28.425o. Carrying concealed weapons on certain premises, limitations
< Text of section effective July 1, 2001. >
Sec. 5o. (1) An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol, or who is exempt from licensure under section 12a(f), shall not carry a concealed pistol on the premises of any of the following:
(a) A school or school property except that a parent or legal guardian of a student of the school is not precluded from carrying a concealed pistol while in a vehicle on school property, if he or she is dropping the student off at the school or picking up the child from the school. As used in this section, "school" and "school property" mean those terms as defined in section 237a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, > MCL 750.237a.
(b) A public or private day care center, public or private child caring agency, or public or private child placing agency.
(c) A sports arena or stadium.
(d) A dining room, lounge, or bar area of a premises licensed under the Michigan liquor control code of 1998, 1998 PA 58, > MCL 436.1101 to > 436.2303. This subdivision shall not apply to an owner or employee of the premises.
(e) Any property or facility owned or operated by a church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship, unless the presiding official or officials of the church, synagogue, mosque, temple, or other place of worship permit the carrying of concealed pistol on that property or facility.
(f) An entertainment facility that the individual knows or should know has a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals or that has a sign above each public entrance stating in letters not less than 1-inch high a seating capacity of 2,500 or more individuals.
(g) A hospital.
(h) A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university.
(2) An individual licensed under this act to carry a concealed pistol, or who is exempt from licensure under section 12a(f), shall not carry a concealed pistol in violation of R 432.1212 or a successor rule of the Michigan administrative code promulgated pursuant to the Michigan gaming control and revenue act, the initiated law of > 1996, MCL 432.201 to > 432.226.
(3) An individual who violates this section is responsible for a civil violation guilty of a crime as follows:
(a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), the individual is responsible for a civil violation and may be fined not more than $500.00. The court shall order the individual's license to carry a concealed pistol suspended for 6 months.
(b) For a second violation the individual is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00. The court shall order the individual's license to carry a concealed pistol revoked.
(c) For a third or subsequent violation the individual is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. The court shall order the individual's license to carry a concealed pistol revoked.